Sound studio

Witchery announces new album “Nightside”

WITCHCRAFT have announced a brand new album!

Title night sideblackened Swedish thrash band’s next album follows 2017’s I Am Legionand is slated for release in July this year, via Media Records of the Century.

The next album was recorded with the WITCHCRAFT range composed of jensen [THE HAUNTED, ex-SEANCE], Rickard Rimfalt [SEANCE], Angus Norther [NEKROKRAFT], Victor Brandt [DIMMU BORGIR, ex-ENTOMED A.D.] – who now officially replaces the longtime bassist Sharlee D’Angelo – and Chris Barkensjo [ex-KAAMOS]. The album was again mixed and produced with Daniel Bergstrand [BEHEMOTH, IN FLAMES etc] and comes with illustrations of Andreas ‘Diaz’ ​​Pettersson.

Speaking of the upcoming album, guitarist jensen said, “I started writing this album without any general direction of idea in mind, but somewhere in the middle of the writing process I remembered that I had always wanted to do a concept album, so I decided I didn’t realize that writing a concept album puts a lot more pressure on each song to be great. That might seem like a norm (and I suppose it probably is). some way) but usually you write 12-14 songs and pick the songs that turned out to be the best after being mixed and mastered Sometimes even what you thought was the first song on the album gets pushed somewhere else because another track was more like an opening track.

Also, out of those 12-14 songs, you can choose to keep some bonus tracks. With a theme album, the songs cannot change places. The story has to work (no one wants to make a new Wool!), so the opening track should really hold up as an opening track etc., hence the added pressure of ‘no surprises’ after everything is recorded. The album tells a story of demonic nightmares, inexplicable pregnancies, witch trails and an escape from the Old Country to the western colonies and what happens once the child is born. Guests on this album is, to begin with, our permanent guest of honor Skein Shermanbut also guest solos from Maciek Ofstad of KVELERTAK and Simon Johansson of WOLF (also owner of the studio of Solna Studio where we recorded the album. We also had the honor of having I f Walker of CARCASS do guest vocals on the song A forest of burning coffins. All in all, we’re very happy with how the album turned out and again excited to Daniel Bergstrand‘s production killer…”

Along with the announcement of the new album, WITCHCRAFT released a new music video for the first song from the upcoming album; witch hour. The new music video was directed by Martin Hultgren / Gryt Film ABwhose post-production is handled by Eduardo Hidalgo / E2h Design Studio & Maciej Pieloch /

Speaking of the new song, jensen adds, “and so the Witch Hour has finally arrived… This, the opening track of the new concept album night side, kicks off a story of unreal nightmares, demonic possession, inquisitive witch trials, and then dives into the really dark stuff, haha. First try for us to create a concept album and we are very happy with the result. We worked hard to create songs that followed the drama of the story (which took more work than we ever imagined, but a challenge we accepted and overcame!). We are pretty sure that pope grinderand now witch hourwill pique your interest in hearing the full story of night side!”

Watch the official Witching Hour clip here:

You can also see the track listing and artwork for the upcoming new album below:

List of tracks:

1. Witches’ Hour
2. Don’t burn the witch
3. Storm of the Unborn
4. Er steht in Flammen
5. Pope Crusher
6. Left Hand Walk
7. Under the Altar
8. Church Burner
9. Crucifix and Candle
10. A Forest of Flaming Coffins
11. Night side

Nightside is set for release on July 22 via Century Media Records. Pre-orders are available now and can be purchased here.

For more information on WITCHERY, like their official page at Facebook.