Sound studio

Speed ​​announces new EP “Gang Called Speed”

SPEED have announced a new EP!

Title Speed ​​called by the gangsthe Aussie hardcore band’s next EP is due out in June this year via Flatspot Recordings and Latest Trip Records. It was recorded with Elliott Gallard to Chameleon Studios and includes six tracks.

Alongside the EP announcement, the band released a new music video for the disc’s opening track. not so nice.

Speaking of the new song, the singer jem comments, “We wrote not so nice in response to Asian hate crimes born out of the pandemic. The sad stories of good innocent civilians victimized by racial violence. I found myself thinking, ‘it’s somebody’s grandma, grandpa, mom, dad, kid…’ Sadly, a lot of that stems from the often-perverted portrayal of stereotypes Asians in the media. Being submissive, weak, passive, silent… for the scared and uneducated few, the sad reality is that this rhetoric translates into oppression and violence in the real world. So this song is just about taking control of your own identity, writing your own narrative. I think the experience of misrepresentation is common for many. I feel privileged to live a life of confidence by speaking out and following my own path…hopefully this song can in some way allow others to feel a similar sense of courage.

Watch the official music video for Not That Nice here:

You can also check out the track listing and artwork for the upcoming EP below:

List of tracks:

  1. not so nice
  2. another toy
  3. Move
  4. Big bite
  5. Every man for himself
  6. Know your enemy

Gang Called Speed ​​is set to release on June 24 via Flatspot recordings / Last trip recordings. Pre-orders are available now and can be purchased here.

For more information on SPEED, like their official page at Facebook.