Sound studio

Revocation Announces New Album ‘Netherheaven’

REVOCATION have announced a brand new album!

Title Netherheaventhe American technical death metal band’s next album is the long-awaited sequel to 2018 The exteriorsand is slated for release in September this year, via Metal blade discs.

The next album was written during downtime after the album cycle for The exteriors was complete. The nine tracks on the album were written solely by the singer/guitarist david davidsonwho spent his time genuflecting before the altars of Luke Lemay [GORGUTS], Chuck Schuldiner [DEATH, Marty Friedman [MEGADETH]and famous jazz guitarists Wes Montgomery and kurt Rosenwinkel. Between writing killer riffs and absolutely unleashed solos, the seven-string also practiced (technique), studied (theory) and taught guitar.

REVOCATION really shifted gears when davidson picked up audio engineering (with Apple Pro Logic) to effectively utilize pandemic-era lockdowns. It made perfect sense for him to lead the engineer and producer chair of his new Heat Wave Studios for Netherheaven. REVOCATION then hailed from Swedish studio ace Jens Bogren [OPETH, KREATOR] to mix and master at Fascination Street Studios.

“We’re definitely more in a death metal mood than on previous albums in our catalog,” affirms davidson. “We are focused on how we can write the best death metal-centric album possible while pushing our limits. new songs on Netherheaven are bad and sinister, but also have a progressive element to keep things interesting. It has our mark on it, no doubt.

Along with the announcement of the new album, REVOCATION released a new music video for the first song from the upcoming album; Devilish Majesty. Speaking of the new song and accompanying music video, davidson said, “It’s always difficult to choose the first single from a new album, but we felt that Devilish Majesty really captures the vibe of Netherheaven globally. It’s a thrash death metal ripper that has a little something for everyone, whether you’re the first to activate a circular pit at a show or just love banging your head. The clip was filmed by our good friends David Brodsky and Allison West, and they once again outdid themselves on this one! Special thanks to Sk8 Liboire crew for letting us rage in their space for a few days.

Lyrically, Devilish Majesty was inspired by the Satanic Temple’s ongoing struggle with the religious right and their battle to display the Baphomet statue in the face of censorship and legal action. To quote the American author Chris Hedges, “The merger of the corporatists with the Christian right is the marriage of Godzilla with Frankenstein.” Those words ring even truer now that hardline Christian politicians have begun imposing their authoritarian rule as they seek to completely undo the separation of church and state.

Bass player Brett Bamberger adds, “to film for Devilish Majesty excited me on all levels! You can’t do better than ripping a video with the team WHILE having a session and multiple Busch Waters. skate at Liboire reminded me of the first time I visited SPOT & Asbury Park when I was a kid. I don’t think I’ve even seen a green ramp since those days since I’ve always been a tech dawg! It was really special to be able to combine all my beloved passions in the session and I hope you all enjoy it as much as I do!

Watch the official music video for Diabolical Majesty here:

You can also see the track listing and artwork for the upcoming new album below:

List of tracks:

1. Devilish Majesty
2. Lessons in occult flight
3. Nihilistic violence
4. Strange and Eternal
5. Morbid Art Galleries
6. The 9th Chasm
7. Forsaken
8. The Intermediate Abyss of Unspeakable Aeons
9. Re-Crucified [feat. Trevor Strnad (THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER) and George ‘Corpsegrinder’ Fisher (CANNIBAL CORPSE)]

Netherheaven is set for release on September 9 via Metal Blade Records. Pre-orders are available now and can be purchased here.

For more information on REVOCATION like their official page on Facebook.